An Open Letter to Facebook… (Let’s Face it, this is a Blog-o-vention!!)

Dear Facebook,

We need to talk!!  (Famous dreaded words!!)  We have had a love affair for many years!  I love so many things about you.  I love that we know the same people, you remind me not to forget my friend’s birthday, you’re there for all the funny moments and all the sad moments.  You are a big part of my life, schmoopie, on both a personal and professional level.  I spend more time with you than my own family.  (Yikes!!)  But, I’ve been noticing some changes in your behavior over the last few months, so I’m staging this blog-o-vention!!  I’ve been unhappy with the information that you’ve been “feeding” me for sometime.

Breaking News

When you made changes to my timeline or to my wall or to my messages, I didn’t complain, I was happy about the change, change is good!  Right??  (Right!!)  So, I have to ask, what the heck is going on with your “News Feed”????  (Sigh…)

It’s time I put my foot down about what you call a “News Feed”!  What, in the name of Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat, is going on here??  Sheesh!!  Why are old (And I mean Ancient!!  At least 8 hours…) stories showing up at the top of my News Feed?  (Seriously??!! Yes!!)  I know that when people comment on a story that is older, your algorithm throws the story at the top of my “News Feed”.  For heavens sake!!!  When I check my News Feed, I expect to see “News”!!  Not a story from 8 hours ago!!  That’s what we call, “Old News”!!  See the definition of NEWS below as provided by a google search…  Notice option #1??  Hello??!!

News Definition

Yes, I know that I can change the feed to reflect either “Top Stories” or “Most Recent”, however, changing the filter to “Most Recent” doesn’t mean that you get the “Most Recent” news!  Yet, I still get news stories from the 2006.

So, my dear, we have to make a change to the way we operate.  Let’s keep the “News Feed” the “News Feed” and not the “History Feed”!!  There are a lot of options out there for a gal like me.  But I’m not ready to give up on you and I don’t want anyone else to give up on you either!  Please, Facebook, make my “History Feed” a “News Feed” again!!

With Love,

Marina C.

Socialty

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

